It’s not easy…to be me

I’ll admit it. I have a few “Five for Fighting” songs on my iPod. Mainly, I keep them on there because I sometimes start feeling too manly and I use their songs to try to regrow my vagina. Tonight I was trying to do just that- resurrect my womanhood.

Before I go any further, I need to mention that Tony has this thing that he does- he changes the words to songs. For example: Bryan Adams “Summer of ’69,” the opening line is “Got my first real six string bought it at the five and dime.” Tony believes this line to be “Got my first real sex dream…bought it at the five and dime…” I have pointed out to him that his interpretation does not, in fact, make any sense. But he insists.

We went out for Chinese food tonite (yes, the leftovers are sitting on the counter, unrefrigerated), and on the way home, Five for Fighting’s “Superman” came on my iPod.

Near the end of the song, Tony said “Are they saying “I’m only a man in a funny red sheet?”

I said “Yes.”

“Why are they singing about a transvestite in a red sheet?” Tony asked.

“Tony” I said “this song is called “Superman.” It’s about Superman.”

“No it isn’t.” Tony said “It’s about a transvestite who wears red.”

“Tony, the lyrics are “I’m more than a bird, I’m more than a plane. More than some pretty face beside a train.”

Blank stare from Tony

“‘I’m only a man in a silly red sheet, digging for kryptonite on this one way street.’ doesn’t that KIND OF sound like Superman?”

Tony said “No, I really believe it is about some transvestites in red sheets.”

The next song that came on was “100 Years,” also by Five for Fighting. I asked Tony “So, what is THIS song about?”

“It’s about aging.”

“Ok, so you understand this one?” I asked

“Yes, it’s about aging transvestites.”

It’s not easy… to be me.

One Response to “It’s not easy…to be me”

  1. organic bird Nest Says:

    Hello, after reading this remarkable piece of writing i am as well cheerful to share my experience here with colleagues.

Leave a Reply

